top of page
Search
  • Ashley

Everything I'm Going to Miss

It's been daunting planning to leave my house for the hospital. So many lists.


A list for what I am going to pack. Take it now, bring it later? What will I have room for? What will they let me bring?


A list for my sweet nanny. (What a God send she is) How can I possibly remember to tell her everything? What am I leaving out?


A list for my husband. Bless his heart. I know I'm overwhelming him.


A list for my family and friends. Between the Google Docs, Google Sheets and iCloud Calendars... the lists are looooong.


The hardest part was creating the iCloud Calendar. I realized all of the prior commitments I'd have to cancel and all of the fun things I was going to miss. From friends birthday parties, school events, Halloween, Thanksgiving, decorating for Christmas, etc. Thinking of missing these things with Mabel constantly makes me cry.


I have tagged all of her outfits. School Picture Day, Pumpkin Patch, Halloween Costume(s), Thanksgiving Dress, Christmas Card Photos, etc. No need for all of those cute clothes if we don't put her in them!


She was so excited about her Halloween costume. Somehow she decided she wanted to be a "Donut Maker". She saw the costume in a magazine and had to have it. This was after I had also secured her Princess Poppy costume.. but of course she doesn't want that anymore. ;) Luckily, her best friend, Drennan took a liking to the Donut Maker costume, too! She wants me to be a donut, very fitting! Our pug, Ox, to be a donut, hilarious. Brendan to be Buzz Lightyear, Mimi to be Princess Poppy, Papa to be Woody. So for the past couple of weeks I've been acquiring all of the various costume accessories. There's a Halloween Party at the hospital so I was planning to see her all dressed up there. Little did I know, my family and friends had other plans.


Sunday, October 7


Kathryn had mentioned that Drennan wanted to have a Donut Maker party and who was I to decline? I wanted to see Mabel and Drenny in their costumes. We planned to do it after naps. Well naturally, Mabel wouldn't nap. I finally got her to go to sleep around 3:15 so I told Kat we'd be there around 5:00pm. We showed up a little cranky from our nap.. Kathryn had a cute donut restaurant set up! Drenny was so excited! Mabel was still waking up... She was not interested in putting on her costume. I wasn't going to force it, but after watching Kathryn intently convince Charlie to put his Incredibles costume on, I bribed Mabel into hers with the promise of a golf cart ride.


On the golf cart we went! I wanted to show the kids the house down the street from my house, Kathryn was insistent on going by the circle at her house. She was also communicating with our husbands about a possible cookout at our house and we wanted to show them the kids all dressed up, so she was orchestrating that. After a few minutes on the golf cart the plan was to go to the playground while we waited on the boys to make up their minds. Here I am, just going with the flow.


After a bit at the park Kat said the boys are ready, so let's go show them the kiddos. We round the corner to my house at 6pm and I see my house. Decorated. Cars everywhere and all of my friends with their kids dressed in their Halloween costumes. I was flooded with emotion. I cried and cried. So many thoughts. What an amazing surprise! I'm going to be able to experience Halloween! To watch my little girl have the time of her life with her friends in costume! How in the hell did they do this without me knowing? I was COMPLETELY OBLIVIOUS.


Note, I left my house at 5pm. There were two wreaths on the doors and that was it. When I returned at 6pm my WHOLE HOUSE and yard was decorated. I'm talking pumpkins, garlands, party food, tables with decorations, table cloths, fall festivities, gift bags, candy, cupcakes, the WORKS. I don't know how they did it. Well I do, my mom. Don't tell her she can't do anything. Amazing!


Looking back there were a few things out of the ordinary that day, but honestly my brain is in such a fog, I didn't catch onto a single thing. I couldn't be more thankful to my mom for planning such a sweet and unexpected party. My family for putting it all together and my friends for getting their kiddos ready for Halloween far before the 31st. I know my Mom was the ringleader and had all of the decorations, food, details nailed out. Brendan and my Dad doing the grunt work. Kathryn for orchestrating this plan and Laurie helping with getting everyone there. I know there were so many more people that helped. THANK YOU. I cry every time I think about it and especially every time I watch the video of us pulling up.




I know there are other things I am going to miss while I am being monitored at the hospital but I'm so glad that I'm not going to miss "Halloween". Like I've said before, the army I have supporting me is so amazing. I am SO BLESSED. 3 more days until I'm admitted! 3 more days until 24 weeks. Boys, let's do this!





262 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

In Between Surgeries at CHOP

I have never been happier to return home. Not even from the NICU. For some reason, well many reasons, our stay in Philly was really hard on me. There were many days it was just Me, Wright, and baby

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page